Broken front door locks – Check if yours are up to date now

by guest NHW blogger……

There have been recent incidents of broken locks in house doors.  There was advice last year to fit BS3621 locks to outside doors.   

 
Older style locks are subject to attack by burglars who break the key barrel and gain access through the broken lock.  
 
A neighbour reports
 
“Thursday 7th February, my 5 lever dead lock would not let me gain access into my house, my son in law had previously changed the barrel of my Yale double locking system as my key broke off inside the barrel.

 To give me extra protection he bought a 5 lever dead lock it was this brand new  dead lock that would not allow me to gain access. When removed it was broken into pieces, and he reckoned that it had been tampered with…great! These dead locks have a five year guarantee,  the manager of Screw fix and said he has never come across anyone to bring one back. I hesitated whether or not to report it to the police, as I thought maybe the weather had something to do with it. .So to keep my son in law  happy I did report it.  A few days after my key broke, my next door neighbours had a locksmith in to replace their 5 lever dead lock as they could not use it. Coincidence or just wear and tear?” 
 

Please report all “broken locks” to 101 (local police) as there could be some criminal apprentices  trying out new techniques on our houses. .  

About Roger Nield MBE

Safety Director for the SMPL Organisation and supporting our Vulnerable Veterans Programme.
This entry was posted in Chertsey, Crime prevention, Egham, Englefield Green, Neighbourhood Watch and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Broken front door locks – Check if yours are up to date now

  1. Pingback: Broken front door locks – Check if yours are up to date now | Egham > Surrey

Leave a Reply

