Putting Patients First

Mental Health Cop

I had an absolutely horrible thought the other day – I had to wonder out loud whether it was really right to put patients first … the very public that the police are here to serve? I immediately felt very awkward indeed because even as my mouth was asking me the question I could tell my brain wanted to say, “Yes!” on principle AND say “No!” with reference to specific examples. And I must insist: I’m almost indignant with myself for asking the question and feeling that the answer occasionally may be in the negative. I know I’m going to get a slap for this post from a friend of mine who is a mental health lead in a police force, but she really got me thinking.

This all arises from a discussion about how the police should approach the issue of structuring partnership and a remark by a police…

View original post 1,596 more words

About Roger Nield MBE

Safety Director for the SMPL Organisation and supporting our Vulnerable Veterans Programme.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

